# STATUTORY AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES, WORKING PARTIES AND PANELS – MEMBERSHIP 2011/12

**Note**: figures in brackets indicate the political ratio, i.e. (Labour: Conservative: Liberal Democrat); asterisk indicates party spokesperson. Statutory Committees should be appointed proportionately or if not proportionate should be appointed with no councillors voting against. Advisory Committees or working parties need not be proportionate.

# (1) STATUTORY COMMITTEES AND PANELS (listed under relevant portfolio)

## (a) CHILDREN'S SERVICES AND LIFELONG LEARNING

(i) Complaints Panel (School Curriculum and Related Matters) (1:1:1 plus named deputies)

Councillor Ann McLachlan

(Deputies – Councillors Tony Smith, Walter Smith, Bernie Mooney)

Councillor Sheila Clarke

(Deputies – Councillors Paul Hayes, Cherry Povall, Wendy Clements)

Councillor Pat Williams

(Deputies - Councillors Tom Harney, Ann Bridson)

## (ii) Education Staff Panel (3:3:1 plus named deputies)

Councillors Ann McLachlan, Tony Smith, Walter Smith

(Deputies – Councillors Bernie Mooney, Darren Dodd, Chris Meaden)

Councillors Paul Hayes, Sheila Clarke, Cherry Povall

(Deputy – Councillor Wendy Clements)

Councillor Pat Williams

(Deputies – Councillors Alan Brighouse, Tom Harney)

#### (iii) Headteacher Appointments Panel (2:2:0 plus named deputies)

Councillors Ann McLachlan, Tony Smith

(Deputies –Councillors Bernie Mooney, Walter Smith)

Councillors Sheila Clarke, Paul Hayes

(Deputies – Councillors Cherry Povall, Wendy Clements)

#### (iv) School Appeals Panel

Lay Chairs: Mrs A Barker, Dr N Eden, Mr R Jones, Mrs C Muspratt, Mrs S Reynolds, Mr J Smallthwaite, Mr D Spencer, Mrs J Turner, Mrs H A Wells and Mrs H Welsh

# (v) Standing Advisory Committee on Religious Education (SACRE) (3:2:1)

Councillors Tony Smith, Walter Smith, Bernie Mooney (Deputies – Councillors Darren Dodd, Jim Crabtree, Chris Meaden) Councillors Wendy Clements, Peter Kearney (Deputy –Councillor Paul Hayes) Councillor Dave Mitchell (Deputies – Councillors Phil Gilchrist, Mark Johnston)

# (vi) Wirral Schools Forum (Funding Consultative Group) - Observers (1:1:1)

Councillors Tony Smith, Sheila Clarke, Pat Williams

#### (vii) School Admissions Forum (1:1:1)

Councillors Ann McLachlan, Sheila Clarke, Pat Williams

## (viii) Wirral's Children Trust Board (1:1:1)

Cabinet Member – Councillor Ann McLachlan (Chair), Councillors Sheila Clarke, Pat Williams

### (ix) Adoption / Fostering Panels

Adoption: Councillor Sheila Clarke

Fostering: Councillors Adrian Jones, Sheila Clarke, Mark Johnston

#### (b) HOUSING AND COMMUNITY SAFETY

#### (i) Housing Review Panel (1:1:1 plus named deputies)

Councillor George Davies
(Deputies – Councillors Jerry Williams, Pat Hackett, Chris Jones)
Councillor Andrew Hodson
(Deputies – Councillors Kate Wood, Tony Cox)
Councillor Mark Johnston
(Deputy –Councillor Stuart Kelly)

#### (ii) Unified Waiting List Management Advisory Board

(2:2:1 plus named deputies)

Councillors George Davies, Jerry Williams (Deputy – Councillor Pat Hackett) Councillors Andrew Hodson, Chris Blakeley (Deputy – Councillor Gerry Ellis) Councillor Mark Johnston (Deputy – Councillor Stuart Kelly)

### (c) SOCIAL CARE AND INCLUSION

Discharge from Guardianship by Wirral Council under the Mental Health Act 1983 Panel (1:1:1) (Members to be appointed from membership of Health and Well Being Overview and Scrutiny Committee)

Councillors Patricia Glasman, Cherry Povall, Ann Bridson

## (d) CORPORATE SERVICES

**Independent Remuneration Panel** (4 persons who are not Members of the Council (and who are not disqualified from being a Member))

Don Latham (Chair), Ray Allan, Nunzia Bertali, Pauline Brown

- (2) ADVISORY COMMITTEES AND WORKING PARTIES (listed under relevant portfolio)
- (a) CHILDREN'S SERVICES AND LIFELONG LEARNING
- (i) Youth and Play Service Advisory Committee (8 Council Members 3:3:2)

Councillors Tony Smith, Chris Meaden, Walter Smith (Deputy – Councillor Darren Dodd)
Councillors Sheila Clarke, Wendy Clements, Cherry Povall (Deputy – Councillor Paul Hayes)
Councillors Tom Harney, Pat Williams (Deputies – Councillors Dave Mitchell, Ann Bridson)

# (ii) Corporate Parenting Group (formerly known as Virtual School Governing Body) (2:2:2)

Councillors Ann McLachlan, Tony Smith Councillors Sheila Clarke, Wendy Clements Councillors Tom Harney, Pat Williams

# (iii) Headteachers and Teachers Joint Consultative Committee (7 Council Members - 3:2:2)

Councillors Ann McLachlan, Tony Smith, George Davies (Deputies – Councillors Jim Crabtree, Darren Dodd, Bernie Mooney) Councillors Sheila Clarke, Paul Hayes (Deputies – Councillor Cherry Povall) Councillors Tom Harney, Pat Williams (Deputies – Councillors Ann Bridson, Phil Gilchrist)

## (iv) SEN Advisory Committee (1:1:1)

Councillor Tony Smith
(Deputies – Councillors Walter Smith, Jim Crabtree, Bernie Mooney)
Councillor Wendy Clements
(Deputies – Councillors Sheila Clarke, Paul Hayes)
Councillor Tom Harney
(Deputy – Councillor Ann Bridson)

## (v) Wirral Schools' Music Service Consultative Committee (1:1:1)

Councillors Walter Smith, Sheila Clarke, Pat Williams

#### (b) CORPORATE SERVICES

## (i) Members' Training Steering Group (1:1:1)

Councillors Patricia Glasman, Wendy Clements, Tom Harney

## (ii) Members' Equipment Steering Group (1:1:1)

Councillors Stuart Whittingham, Jeff Green, Bob Wilkins

#### (c) CULTURE, TOURISM AND LEISURE

#### (i) Birkenhead Park Advisory Committee (4:2:2)

Councillors Brian Kenny, George Davies, Denise Roberts, Jean Stapleton Councillors Cherry Povall, Sheila Clarke Councillors Stuart Kelly, Alan Brighouse

### (ii) Hilbre Island Nature Reserve Management Committee (2:4:2)

Councillors Jerry Williams, Tony Smith Councillors Gerry Ellis, John Hale, Jeff Green, Geoffrey Watt Councillors Mark Johnston, Alan Brighouse

#### (iii) Parks and Countryside Service Options Group (2:2:2)

Councillors Tony Smith, Jerry Williams Councillors David Elderton, Tom Anderson Councillors Dave Mitchell, Bob Wilkins

#### (d) ENVIRONMENT

## Wirral Climate Change Group (1:1:1)

Councillor Brian Kenny Councillor Tom Anderson Councillor Bob Wilkins

## (e) HOUSING AND COMMUNITY SAFETY

### Anti-Social Behaviour Partnership Body (2:2:1)

Councillors Harry Smith, Joe Walsh (Deputies – Councillors **To be confirmed**) Councillors Chris Blakeley, Sheila Clarke (Deputies – Councillor Andrew Hodson) Councillor Bob Wilkins (Deputies – Councillors Dave Mitchell, Stuart Kelly)

## (f) REGENERATION AND PLANNING STRATEGY

#### Birkenhead Town Centre Consultative Group (2:2:1)

Councillors Brian Kenny, Jean Stapleton Councillors Andrew Hodson, Simon Mountney Councillor Stuart Kelly

## (g) CHILDREN'S SERVICES AND LIFELONG LEARNING / SOCIAL CARE AND INCLUSION

## **Safeguarding Reference Group (4:3:2)**

Councillors Steve Foulkes, Phil Davies, Ann McLachlan, Anne McArdle Councillors Jeff Green, Lesley Rennie, Sheila Clarke Councillors Tom Harney, Dave Mitchell